Property crimes are taken seriously, and we take them serious as well. Property crimes involve a wide range of criminal conduct, such as theft, burglary, robbery, criminal trespass, criminal mischief, and arson. See Tex. Pen. Code Ann. title 7, Chapters 28-35.
If you are charged with a property offense, be sure to hire an attorney who will fight for you and ensure the best result.
Texas Arson Law
A person commits the offense of arson if such person starts a fire with intent to destroy or damage. See Tex. Pen. Code Ann. § 28.02 (West 2019). Arson is generally second-degree offense, which carries a punishment range of 2 to 20 years and a fine not to exceed $10,000. However, arson is a first-degree felony if (1) bodily injury or death was suffered by any person by reason of the commission of the offense, or (2) the property intended to be damaged or destroyed was a habitation or a place of assembly or worship. A first-degree felony is punishable by 5 to 99 years and a fine not to exceed $10,000. Arson is not defined as an aggravated offense under the Penal Code.
Speak with a Texas Property Charges Defense Attorney Today
While property offenses may be common offenses, that doesn’t mean it isn’t a serious one. Don’t take chances with your future if you find yourself facing charges for a Hays, Guadalupe, or Comal County arson offense. Call the Law Office of Case J. Darwin today to arrange for your free initial consultation to discuss your situation with a Texas arson lawyer. We will treat you with respect, listen to your story, and formulate a strategy to achieve the best possible outcome.
Call us today at (512) 738-6146 or contact us online to arrange for your free initial consultation with a trusted arson attorney.